Alumnus Speaks to 2021 Scholar-Athlete Recipients

Selected news story

Alumnus Speaks to 2021 Scholar-Athlete Recipients

This year's special guest speaker was Charles Johnson, DCDS Class of 1987. Mr. Johnson is the Vice President of Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion at Ball Corporation. His resume includes Association Director of Athletics at the University of Colorado, 2004 Emmy Award winner, 1991 Orange Bowl MVP, and member of 1990 Colorado Buffalos National Champions. He graduated with a BA in political science in 1991 and an MBA in 1994 from the University of Colorado-Boulder.

Blue & Gold Club sponsors this annual event to honor the scholar-athlete concept at Detroit Country Day School. The Club provides funds for the enhancement of athletic facilities and programs for students of all age levels. Also, thank you to our event sponsors listed below. 


Congratulations to the following seniors for fulfilling the guidelines and accepting the scholar-athlete award.

  • Current DCDS senior
  • Earned Varsity status at least three different times by participating on one or more DCDS sports teams
  • Cumulative GPA must be 3.4 or higher
  • Free from any Honor Code or other disciplinary infractions

Seniors were emailed a notice of their qualifications and were required to submit an acceptance form. The following students were recognized this year.

Jonathan Abraham Aryan Mistry
Connor Adams Ramzi Nassif
Isabel Aviles Tanmai Nimmagadda
Randy Bhattu Serena Nyambio
Adam Boxwalla Arvin Pandiyan
Evelyn Chang Londyn Ptasznik
Annika Chinnaiyan Faraz Rahman
Jordan Dong Abhinav Reddy
Grace Fowkes Matthew Redfield
Jack Freeman Emily Rits
Mary Gates Brody Ross
Lana Haddad Jacqueline Sarafa
Yacoub Haydin Aren Shah
Lily Higgins Ainsley Shilling
Aleksander John Blair Spencer
Petros Kalabat Rimisha Srivastava
Nicholas Kalkanis Meghan Stankovic
Lily Karmo Eleanor Thompson
Aidan Khaghany Mia Christine Timban
Mariya Khan Cole Wilhelmi
Aaron Li Julia Williams
Ryan Lyngklip Vivian Williams
Marissa Malleck Jay Xiao
Alexander Matthews Parker Yearego
Emir McGreevy Jaquelyn Yoo
Marc Meltser Clara Yuhn